Mr. Stripey Heirloom Tomato

Part of the fun of Mr. Stripey is the surprise at harvest time. Fruit varies in color, and the stripes become more prominent as the fruit ages. See the variation on these fruit from our trial garden.
Taste
Yield
12 Review(s)

Mr. Stripey Heirloom Tomato

 | 

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 12 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Mr Stripey is awesome Review by kathy1951
Taste
Yield
Huge tomatoes weigh in over a pound. It is Oct. 4 and just picked a 5 gallon bucketful yesterday. I live in NE Indiana. Sweet and delicious. Will definitely plant next year. (Posted on 10/4/13)
will plant next year! Review by George
Taste
Yield
I have grown a variety of tomatoes over the years. I saw this plant early spring and planted it just to try something new. I never expected to see such LARGE fruit!! One plant has produced well over 20 very large tomatoes some are close to 4 1/2 to 5" wide!! (Posted on 10/3/13)
Not impressed Review by Beth
Taste
Yield
I planted this with high hopes and was very disappointed. While it set fruit & produced lots, the fruit bruised so easily that it bruised just from me picking them. Splitting is expected from heirlooms but this was horrible. Most rotted on the vine before ripe enough to pick. And they were relatively tasteless. (Posted on 9/22/13)
Won't grow again Review by greensing
Taste
Yield
No sweetness in ours, rot quickly, split easily. (Posted on 9/20/13)
This is a very tasty tomato. Review by Kathy
Taste
Yield
This is the first time I have grown this tomato and will grow it a gain. I have heard about it but never tried it. (Posted on 8/27/13)
Mr Stripey heirloom tomato Review by mara78
Taste
Yield
Excellent, easy care tomato plant with oodles of fruit and it just never quits. (Posted on 8/26/13)
Amazing taste Review by Krolik
Taste
Yield
Bought this at Home Depot (I live in Southern California) among bunch of other heirlooms this summer. It's absolutely the winner! The taste - oh, liquid honey!!! The sweetest tomato I have ever tasted. Zero acidity. I swear. That was important to me, since I can't eat regular tomatoes, as the acid totally eats my tongue away and makes it raw. The size of the tomatoes was enormous: I had to use extra wood props under the branches. Overall - amazing, good experience. Will plant more of them next year. (Posted on 8/9/13)
beautiful plant Review by Tonia
Taste
Yield
I am still awaiting my first ripe tom off this plant. I am in zone 7, sterling va, and have planted three of these in a community garden nearby. We had a cool, wet, spring and my other tomatoes (Beefsteak) got a serious case of early blight...these guys held off for almost another month before they got infected. However, they are blooming and yielding many tomatoes and as I fight the fungus they are holding up...I have already pulled the beefsteaks...looking forward to the first ripe one due to be picked any day now...
I cant tell you how healthy these plants looked until the blight, and I credit their survival so far to that. (Posted on 7/10/13)
good Review by tomato lover
Taste
Yield
great tomato (Posted on 7/3/13)
MR STRIPEY I LOVE YOU Review by JERRI
Taste
Yield
I LIVE IN GEORGIA...AND I HAVE ALWAYS LOOKED FOR AND PLANTED MR STRIPEY... (WHENEVER I COULD FIND IT.) I AM NOW IN MY 70'S AND IN A CONDO..NO GARDEN :( AND MR STRIPEY WILL NOT GO IN THE SMALL POTS ALLOWED ON MY PATIO... HE WILL BE SORELY MISSED..HE WILL BE IN MY SUMMER GARDEN DREAMS
(Posted on 6/21/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 12 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Mr. Stripey Heirloom Tomato

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Taste
Yield
© 2014 Bonnie Plants, Gardening With You Since 1918.